Skip to main content

Search LearnTheBible

Rightly Dividing the Mosaic Law

The Ten Commandments are considered the foundation of the Mosaic Law. However, that is only partially true. The Mosaic Law is actually best understood when it is divided into: (1) the moral law, (2) the civil law, and (3) the ceremonial law. The moral law deals with that which is morally right and wrong. The civil law covers those laws which deal with man’s social relationships. The ceremonial law involves the commandments God gave concerning the sacrifices, feasts, and other ceremonial practices of the nation of Israel. Every student must grasp these divisions within the law in order to properly understand the Old Testament both historically and as it applies today.